Father Christmas heading to Ryedale on annual tour

Santa and Ryedale Lions members get the sleigh ready for the Ryedale tour.
Santa and Ryedale Lions members get the sleigh ready for the Ryedale tour.

Ryedale Lions Club is making last-minute preparations to Santa’s sleigh ahead of his annual tour around the area.

Father Christmas’s tour will start at the Pickering Christmas lights switch-on on Saturday 3 December.

After that, Santa will be speeding off around the towns and villages of north Ryedale to make it a Christmas to remember for hundreds of children who come out to see him.

Santa’s elves from the Lions Club will be with the sleigh and collecting door-to- door in its biggest fund-raising event of the year for local charities, hoping to top the record £8,000 collected last year.

Money raised will go to help St Catherine’s Hospice, Marie Curie Cancer Care and Ryedale Special Families, plus other local good causes.

Ryedale Lions organiser Brian Johnson said: “The smiles on the faces of so many children meeting Santa make it a great night to remember and the money that local people donate will make it a better New Year for many others in need locally.”

Full details of Ryedale Lions Santa sleigh schedule (subject to weather) are:

Saturday 3 December

Pickering switch-on 4.30pm

Sunday 4 December

Helmsley (South) 4pm

Helmsley (North) 6.30pm

Monday 5 December

Rosedale 5pm

Cropton 5.40pm

Wrelton 6.30pm

Middleton 7.40pm

Tuesday 6 December

Beadlam 5.30pm

Nawton 6.45pm

Kirkbymoorside (Lund Lane and Parkers Mount) 7.45pm

Wednesday 7 December

Appleton 5.30pm

Spaunton 6.10pm

Lastingham 6.40pm

Hutton 7.20pm

Keldholme 8.10pm

Thursday 8 December

Oswaldkirk 5.30pm

Ampleforth 6.50pm

Friday 9 December

Thornton Dale 5pm

Saturday 10 December

Kirkbymoorside (East) 5pm

Sunday 11 December

Pickering (South West) 4pm

Pickering (East) 6.30pm

Monday 12 December

Nunnington 5.30pm

Harome 6.30pm

Wombleton 7.50pm

Wednesday 14 December

Wilton 5.45pm

Allerston 6.30pm

Ebberston 7.30pm

Thursday 15 December

Salton 5.30pm

Normanby 6.10pm

Marton 6.50pm

Sinnington 7.30pm

Friday 16 December

Pickering (North) 5.30pm

Saturday 17 December

Pickering Market Place 11am – 2pm

Kirkbymoorside (West) 5.15pm

Sunday 18 December

Gillamoor 5.40pm

Fadmoor 6.20pm

Great Edstone 7pm