DARREN FOREMAN: Broad fine is scandalous while Rooney’s strike highlights his class

Wayne Rooney's stunning strike against West Ham highlighted the rise in quality at the top level
Wayne Rooney's stunning strike against West Ham highlighted the rise in quality at the top level

Stuart Broad has been fined 15 per cent of his match fee for his comments criticising the umpires decision not to take the players off the field when a lightning storm was brewing overhead.

It’s an absolutely scandalous fine and Broad was quite right to question that the players safety should of come first.

England captain Stuart Broad, left, talks with New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, second left, as they leave the ground in rain during ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match in Chittagong, Bangladesh, Saturday, March 22, 2014 . Rain marred the play in which New Zealand won by nine runs by Darworth and Lewis. (AP Photo/Bikas Das)

England captain Stuart Broad, left, talks with New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, second left, as they leave the ground in rain during ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match in Chittagong, Bangladesh, Saturday, March 22, 2014 . Rain marred the play in which New Zealand won by nine runs by Darworth and Lewis. (AP Photo/Bikas Das)

Brendan McCullum (pictured below left in heated debate with Broad) stepped away when the lightning struck overhead during an over and then proceeded to club the next two balls over the ropes to allow New Zealand to win on the Duckworth Lewis method.

No, it’s not sour grapes, but how do five overs of a second innings constitute a result.

Both teams should have been given a point each for the abandoned game.

This weekend saw two fantastic goals from Wayne Rooney and Alex Tettey.

Two goal of the season candidates on the same day.

The quality of goals in all the divisions has gone through the roof this season and each week something comes along more special.

I can hardly remember scoring from much beyond the penalty spot, let alone 30 or 35 yards out.

Andre Marriner made an honest mistake and issued an immediate apology for his sending off of Kieran Gibbs (or non sending off of Alex Oxlade-Chamberlayne shall we say).

Surely the fourth official or assistants could havehelped him to put it right at the time.

He has contact via his earpiece to them and the fact the Ox admitted it was him must have set the alarm bells ringing for Marriner.

PERFORMANCE OF THE WEEK:

Laura Massaro clinched the women’s World Squash Championship in Malaysia, becoming the first English woman in 15 years to achieve that feat.

QUOTE OF THE WEEK:

“Mickey always backed up his side of things and always gave you what he’d promised - and sometimes a little bit more.”

Boxing pundit Jim Watt after the passing of Mickey Duff.