Mead and Brown collect top senior awards while Kingfishers are honoured for Channel effort

Sports Awrds at The Spa Michael Brown Picture Richard Ponter 134808h

Sports Awrds at The Spa Michael Brown Picture Richard Ponter 134808h

Have your say

Scarborough’s motorsport star Michael Brown and Whitby-based Sunderland & England Women striker Beth Mead swooped to take the top senior awards at tonight’s Scarborough & District Sports Council Awards.

Brown just pipped Scarborough RUFC’s South African man mountain Nino Cutino to the Top Male Achiever Award, while Mead managed to stave off competition from Scarborough Athletics Club’s Sue Haslam to secure the female equivalent.

The Coach of the Year Award was collected by bowls supremo Mike Preston, who just beat off Scarborough Pirates coach Adam Lee into the runners-up spot, while Lee saw his side narrowly miss out on the Top Playing Team Senior Award to the Kingfishers Swimming Club’s Channel Relay Team.

Full list of award winners:

Primary Sports Girl Under-11: Jasmine Kent

Primary Sports Boy Under-11: Isaac Grunwell

Junior Sports Girl Under-14: Samantha Verrill

Junior Sports Boy Under-14: Alex Lynn

Junior Sports Girl Under-16: Emma Clapton

Junior Sports Boy Under-16: Jonathan Read

Junior Sports Girl Under-18: Bronwen Owen

Junior Sports Boy Under-18: Jack Bird

Top Primary Team Under-11: Scarborough Gymnastics Academy Primary National Mixed Team

Top Playing Team Under-18: Scarborough Gymnastics Academy Junior National Girls Team

Top Female Achiever: Beth Mead

Top Male Achiever: Michael Brown

Sport Teacher of the Year: Les Ramm

Special Achievement Award: Scarborough Goalball Club

Top Playing Team Senior: Kingfishers Swimming Club Open Water Channel Relay Team

Top Community Sports Club: Scarborough RUFC

Coach of the Year: Mike Preston

Sports Volunteer of the Year: John Hall

Service to Sport: Mike Willis

The Mavis Clayton Memorial Trophy: Kingfishers Swimming Club Open Water Channel Relay Team

Don’t miss Thursday’s Scarborough News for five pages of coverage from tonight’s awards with pictures of all the night’s winners.