Starry line-up for us over the summer

Soprano Katherine Jenkins, who will play the Open Air Theatre this summer
Soprano Katherine Jenkins, who will play the Open Air Theatre this summer

Some of the biggest names in entertainment – from 
comedy to opera – are heading to Scarborough in the coming months.

The diverse line-up of stars are at the town’s biggest venues – the Open Air Theatre, the Futurist, the Spa – and Dalby Forest.

They include Katherine Jenkins, Olly Murs, Leona Lewis, Courtney Pine, Paloma Faith, Ken Dodd and the Chuckle Brothers.

The seventh Scarborough Literature Festival has also attracted some famous names including curator of Royal Palaces Lucy Worsley, and authors David Lodge and Joanne Harris.

Courtney Pine is one of the headline acts at the 10th Scarborough Jazz Festival.

The Stephen Joseph Theatre will premiere new plays by both Alan Ayckbourn and John Godber as well as revivals of classics.

Further afield, the Bridlington Spa plays host to comedian Jimmy Carr.

He is there on August 16 and will also be in Scarborough later in the year. Dave Spikey and Mike Harding are also at Bridlington Spa.

“It is events and people of this calibre which draw people to Scarborough,” said Graham North from the Forum forTourism.

“These and festivals are good news for the town. They make people think of the town in a different and positive way and increase its profile nationally and internationally,” he added.

Mr North estimated that a 6,000-seat sell-out at the Open Air Theatre puts £500,000 into the economy as people stay over in hotels and frequent restaurants, bars and shops.

open air theatre

Olly Murs, Thursday June 6
The Wanted, Friday June 14
Happy Mondays, Saturday June 22
Leona Lewis, Friday July 12
Status Quo, Saturday July 27
Katherine Jenkins, Saturday August 3
The Saturdays, Saturday August 24
McFly, Friday August 30

the spa

Jools Holland, Wednesday May 15
Tony Peers summer shows
Spa Orchestra season, June 6 to September 19
Scarborough Jazz Festival, Friday September 27 to Sunday September 29
Jimmy Carr, Friday November 1

The futurist

The Chuckle Brothers, Thursday August 1, 8, 15, 21 and 29
An Evening of Dirty Dancing: A Tribute Show, Saturday August 10
Ken Dodd, Saturday August 24

dalby forest

Blondie, Friday June 28
Paloma Faith, Saturday June 29