New films added to Stephen Joseph Theatre season

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Four new movies, a live streaming from the National Theatre, and a classic Star Trek movie have been added to the Stephen Joseph Theatre’s cinema programme for the late summer.

Films Born to Blue, starring Ethan Hawke as jazz trumpeter Chet Baker, Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie, which stars Jennifer Saunders and Joanne Lumley alongside a host of star cameos and Matt Damon in the latest of the Bourne series, Jason Bourne take the film programme through to September 1.

The venue will live stream the NT’s production of Terence Rattigan’s The Deep Blue Sea, starring Helen McCrory.

September brings the latest in the Star Trek series, Star Trek Beyond, plus a treat for Trekkies on Thursday September 8, which marks the 50th birthday of the franchise – a screening of the fully remastered director’s cut of Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan, which has never been seen in cinemas before.

Screening dates and times are:

Born to be Blue: Sunday August 14 at 4pm; Tuesday August 16 and Wednesday August 17 at 7.45pm.

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie: Friday August 19 and Saturday August 20 at 2pm, 5pm and 8pm; Monday August 22, Tuesday August 23 and Wednesday August 24 at 7.45pm; Thursday August 25 at 1.45pm

Jason Bourne: Friday August 26 at 2.45pm; Saturday August 27 at 7.45pm; Sunday August 28 at 1pm and 4pm; Monday August 29, Tuesday August 30, and Wednesday August 31 at 7.45pm; Thursday September 1 at 1.45pm.

The Deep Blue Sea: Thursday September 1 at 7pm.

Star Trek Beyond: Friday September 2 and Saturday September 3 at 2pm, 5pm and 8pm; Monday September 5, Tuesday September 6, and Wednesday September 7 at 7.45pm; Thursday September 8 at 1.45pm.

Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan: Thursday Septembee 8 at 7.45pm.

Tickets on 01723 370541.