Oasis film in new season on Stephen Joseph Theatre big screen



Local actress Joanne Froggatt tops the cinema bill at Scarborough’s Stephen Joseph Theatre next month in a line-up which also features a new film about Manchester band Oasis, the latest from British director Ken Loach and two new thrillers.

Downton Abbey star Joanne, who was born in Littlebeck, near Whitby, and was a member of the SJT’s youth group, Rounders, plays the lead in Starfish, which tells the story of a couple whose love is tested to its limit after their perfect life falls apart in a single moment.

The month kicks off with The Girl with All the Gifts. Glenn Close, Gemma Arterton and Paddy Considine star in an inventive spin on the classic zombie movie.

It’s followed by Supersonic, the keenly anticipated new in-depth documentary on Oasis.

The McCarthy will also screen I, Daniel Blake, Ken Loach’s drama about a joiner in the North East.

Psychological thriller The Girl on the Train comes to the McCarthy in November. Emily Blunt stars in the movie based on the best-selling novel of the same name by Paula Hawkins.

Also in the McCarthy through the month is a programme of live and encore streamings.

Screening times are:

The Girl with All the Gifts: Saturday October 29 at 2pm, 5pm (open captions) and 8pm; Tuesday 1 November at 2.45pm (relaxed) and 7.45pm.

Anastasia (ROH Live): Wednesday November 2 at 7.15pm

Supersonic: Friday November 4 at 7.45pm; Saturday November 5 at 2pm, 5pm and 8pm.

I, Daniel Blake: Monday November 14 at 7.45pm; Tuesday 15 November at 2.45pm (open captions); Thursday 17 November at 1.45pm and 7.15pm.

Les Contes D’Hoffman (ROH Live): Tuesday November 15 at 6.15pm.

Alan Bennett’s Diaries Live: Wednesday November 16 at 8pm.

The Girl on the Train: Friday November 18 at 2.45pm (relaxed) and 7.45pm; Saturday November 19 at 2pm and 8pm; Monday 21, Tuesday 22 (open captions) and Wednesday November 23 at 7.45pm; Thursday November 24 at 1.45pm and 7.15pm.

André Rieu’s Christmas Concert: Saturday November 19 (sold out) and Saturday November 26 at 5pm.

Starfish: Friday November 25 at 2.45pm and 7.45pm; Saturday 26 November at 2pm and 8pm.

Tickets on 01723 370541 or book online: www.sjt.uk.com