By-election after two step down

Scarborough Town Hall
Scarborough Town Hall

By-elections are set to be held in Scarborough following the resignation of two Scarborough councillors.

The councillors who have stepped down from their roles are Nick Brown, who represented Ramshill ward, and Mick Cooper, of Newby ward.

There is now therefore a vacancy on each of these wards to represent residents as part of Scarborough Borough Council.

The Scarborough News contacted Nick Brown, who said he had decided to resign for “private and personal reasons”.

However, it was not possible to get in touch with Mick Cooper at the time of going to press.

By-elections have been requested and will take place on Thursday 22 August. The closing date for nominations for both wards is 12pm on Friday July 26.

Nomination packs can be requested from the council’s elections team by emailing calling (01723) 232309 or writing to Electoral and Regulation, Scarborough Borough Council, Town Hall, St Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HG.

A list of those nominated to stand in the elections will be published by 12pm on Tuesday July 30.

In the Newby ward, the polling stations that will be used on elections day are St Mark’s Community Hall on Green Lane and Gatesgarth Amenity Room on Gatesgarth Close.

Voters who have in the past voted at Wreyfield Church Hall must vote at St. Mark’s Community Hall as Wreyfield Church Hall is still out of use.

In the Ramshill ward, the polling station will be at St Andrew’s United Reformed Church on Ramshill Road.

Polling stations will be open for voting from 7am until 10pm on the day of the elections.

The last date to register to vote in the elections and for new applications to vote by post, cancel existing postal or proxy vote arrangements is 5pm on Wednesday August 7.