New faces for North York Moors Authority

Two new members have been appointed to the North York Moors National Park Authority.

The appointments of Andrew Scott CBE and Alison Fisher were made by Caroline Spelman, the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Their roles came into effect on June 1 and are initially for four years with the option of re-appointment for a total period of up to eight years.

In addition to the new appointments two existing members of the National Park Authority, Jane Mitchell and Stephen Scoffin, have been re-appointed for a further four and three year terms respectively.

The North York Moors National Park Authority has 22 members who provide guidance on the management of the area’s wildlife, archaeology, education, planning, recreation and communications. Six of the Authority’s members are ‘National’ members.