Your chance to give teacher full marks!

editorial image

YOUNGSTERS across Scarborough: it’s time for you to give your favourite teacher full marks!

The Evening News Teacher of the Year award is back again to honour the most deserving teacher across Scarborough.

Angela Smith, from St Martin’s Primary School, wowed judges in last year’s contest to lift the crown ahead of 55 fellow teachers.

Mrs Smith, who was nominated by Grace Mellor, Joshua Rigg and Benjamin Walters-Hardy, was taken aback when reporter Steven Hugill visited the school to give her the good news.

She said: “I was shocked to find out I had won and it was such a wonderful feeling to be nominated by the children.

“The children are lovely to work with and we do a lot of interesting and outdoor lessons which they really enjoy.”

The prize aims to honour the teacher who makes school fun and takes pupils on fun trips.

In previous years, we have received scores of entries from pupils proclaiming their teacher is the best around, with children citing a plethora of reasons for their nomination.

Does your teacher go the extra mile in helping to make difficult subjects easier to understand?

Perhaps they have given you good advice which has improved your grades and made your time in class more enjoyable?

Do they make lessons fun by taking you on special trips or using fun activities to explain the topic?

Maybe your teacher has taken on an after school club or set up a sports club for you to show off your athletic ability?

Whatever they have done, we want you to tell us about it and put them forward for the top teacher award in Scarborough!

To enter you can write to us as an individual or a class, but there must only be one nomination per pupil for each teacher.

Include the entry form at the bottom of the page with your letter.

We will publish a supplement, featuring all nominations and pictures of the teacher and class.

The winner will be presented with a framed certificate and runners-up will also be rewarded.

The closing date for entries is Friday, June 22.