Beckett League: Graham blasts 173 for Seamer 2nds

Beckett League news
Beckett League news

Dave Graham’s 173 was the top score of the day in the Readers Scarborough Beckett Cricket League, his stunning effort helping Seamer 2nds chalk up a 196-run home division C win against Cloughton 2nds.

Graham was offered valuable support by Lindon Darby’s 70 as Seamer amassed a huge 339-3, Andy Ward unbeaten on 43.

In reply, Cloughton slumped to 143 all out, helping Seamer’s chances of avoiding the drop into the Derwent Valley League, but adding to Cloughton’s drop fears.

Another centurion was Forge Valley batsman Tom Brough, whose 111 helped them to a 92-run against basement club Cloughton in the premier division.

The former Ebberston ace helped Valley post 230-6, but the hosts limped to 138-7 in reply, another ex-Ebberston player, Tom Bumby, snapping up 5-54.

This win keeps Valley in second spot behind the leaders - and title favourites - Heslerton, after the latter’s six-wicket win at home to Staxton.

Pace bowlers Kristian Wilkinson and Adam Spaven grabbed 4-33 and 3-34 respectively to send the visitors crashing to 78 all out.

Sam Triffitt’s undefeated 25 saw Heslerton home after a few early wickets were lost.

Matty Turnbull’s hat-trick failed to halt his Ebberston side’s 125-run loss at Staithes.

Turnbull’s treble in his 4-24 was the only real highlight as the visitors struggled to contain Staithes, whose 233 all out was led by 42 from Rich Heggarty.

Turnbull hit 26 and Jon Mason 25no as the visitors slipped to 108 all out in reply, Stuart Theaker taking 4-20 and Paul Theaker 3-17.

Kirkbymoorside eased to an eight-wicket win at home to Flixton 2nds, Dan Meredith taking 3-35 and hitting 27 not out for the Moorsiders.

Jodie Robson’s unbeaten 62 and Graham Jemison’s 5-44 were the other highlights for Kirkby.

Division A leaders Filey strolled to a 166-run win at home to Sewerby 2nds, Phil Dickens smashing 91 and Zimbabwean all-rounder Kieran Geyle hammering 87 as the hosts batted first and rattled up 287-9.

Despite a valiant 74no from Cameron Rusbridge-Burns, the clifftop club slumped to 121 all out Nathan Robson taking 3-25.

Seamer’s promotion hopes were hit by a surprise three-wicket loss at Settrington.

Andy Storey bagged 6-36 as Seamer sank to 127 all out, and an unbeaten 59 from Eddie Rounthwaite handed the Ryedale side a nervy victory - despite top bowling from Adam Morris (4-49).

Dave Pearson’s unbeaten 104 helped Wykeham to a 34-run win against strugglers Scarborough 3rds in division B.

Josh Hird’s undefeated 38 helped the visitors to 232-6, and despite fine efforts from Kawsar Ahmed (75) and skipper Martin North (43) the home side fell short on 198-7.

Grindale maintained pole position - and their unbeaten record - with a four-wicket win at Forge Valley 2nds, Ian Cousins taking 5-32 and hitting 35 for the visitors.


Premier Division

Forge Valley 230-6 (T Brough 111, N Kendrew 39, G Jordan 3-55) beat *Cloughton 138-7 (C Malthouse 30, R Nock 25, P France 40, T Bumby 5-54) by 92 runs. Pts 18-5

Kirkbymoorside 123-2 (J Robson 62no, D Gardner 31, D Meredith 27no) beat *Flixton 2nds 121 all out (C Grant 26, J Clark 36no, D Meredith3-35, G Jeminson 5-44) by 8 wickets. Pts 16-2

*Heslerton 81-4 (S Triffitt 25no) beat Staxton 78 all out (A Spaven 3-34, K Wilkinson 4-33) by 6 wickets. Pts 18-2

*Staithes 233 all out (R Heggarty 42, P Wilson 25, S Marsey 30, S Major 33, C Thompson 42, M Turnbull 4-24 inc hat-trick, F Beal 3-60) beat Ebberston 108 all out (M Turnbull 26, J Mason 25no, S Theaker 4-20, P Theaker 3-17) by 125 runs. Pts 20-6

Division ‘A’

Nawton Grange 163 all out (J Lush 37, M Bruce 4-51, J Rewcroft 4-25) beat *Brompton 113 all out (T Pateman 38, D Coote 5-18) by 50 runs. Pts 18-6

*Filey 287-9 (K Geyle 87, P Dickens 91, W Hunter 30, C Rusbridge-Burns 3-60, V O’Grady 4-63) beat Sewerby 2nds 121 all out (C Rusbridge-Burns 74no, N Robson 3-25) by 166 runs. Pts 20-5

*Settrington 128-7 (E Rounthwaite 59no, A Morris 4-49) beat Seamer 127 all out (A Jenkinson 28, J Broadhead 27, A Storey 6-36) by 3 wickets. Pts 17-5

*Sherburn v Wold Newton – Wold Newton could not raise a team. Pts 20-0

Division ‘B’

*Cayton 2nds 191-5 (J Riley 38, R Woodhead 46, S Glave 40no) beat Fylingdales 157-6 (W Barber 30, M Jackson 56no) by 34 runs. Pts 17-5

Ryedale 174-6 (D Walker 35, A Hill 39) beat *Duncombe Park 2nds 171-8 (J Lascelles 41, A Medd 48, A Ibbotson 6-34) by 4 wickets. Pts 17-6

Grindale 120-6 (I Cousins 35, L Bailey 3-19) beat *Forge Valley 2nds 116 all out (G Gibson 62, I Cousins 5-32, B Jackson 5-22) by 4 wickets. Pts 16-4

Wykeham 232-6 (D Pearson 104no, J Hurd 38no) beat *Scarborough 3rds 198-7(K Ahmed 75, M North 43) by 34 runs. Pts 18-7

Bridlington 2nds 208-8 (R Middlewood 84, M Purvis 48, D Outhart 5-59) beat *Staxton 2nds 200-5 (C Hill 63, M Witty 62no) by 8 runs. Pts 17-9

Division ‘C’

*Ebberston 2nds v Staithes 2nds – Staithes 2nds could not raise a team. Pts 20-0

*Ganton 263 all out (S Ward 56, E Cooper 66, A Limb 64, A Duffill 5-80, M Dring 3-72) beat Heslerton 2nds 132 all out (I Blanchard 52, J Bannister 5-23) by 131 runs. Pts 20-7

*Seamer 2nds 339-3 (D Graham 173, L Darby 70, A Ward 43no) beat Cloughton 2nds 143 all out (J Fewster 56, C Myerscough 3-28) by 196 runs. Pts 20-3

*Thornton Dale 146-5 (C Headlam 34no) beat Scalby 2nds 144 all out (P Marton 25no, F Schmuck 27, C Lockwood 5-40, C Headlam 4-51)

Ravenscar 150-4 (J Bayes 89, C Remmer 3-42) beat *Wykeham 2nds 146 all out (A Shepherdson 27, B Metcalfe 36, J Rewcroft 6-64) by 6 wickets. Pts 18-4.