Beckett League Round-up

editorial image

STAITHES continued their impressive start to their bid to retain their title as they recorded the second highest total in Premier League history with their impressive 334-6 against Forge Valley.

Staithes had an opening stand of 117 as Chris Dixon plundered 87 and Chris Barritt (64).

Simon Bowes made 77 and Scott Major 28 as Staithes racked up a huge total.

Valley’s reply started well as they notched up 55 for the first wicket between Dave Morris and Jonny Hayes.

Hayes was out for 25 but Morris went on to make a superb 124, hitting 18 fours and three sixes in the process, as Valley made a decent 228-2.

Ebberston flew to the top of the table as they recorded their second win on the bounce against Filey.

Col Palmer (80) and Tom Bumby (59) helped Ebberston to 271-7.

Replying, Filey made just 135 as Pete Webster took 3-35 and Bumby 4-33 to add to his efforts with the bat.

Staxton bounced back from their opening day defeat with a win against Cloughton.

Chris Dove top scored with 77 as he was supported by Dave Williamson (59), Adam Hargreaves (38) and Dan Bulman (37) as Staxton racked up 261-7.

Danny Pickup made 79 and Ricky Nock 35 but Cloughton were all out for 189, Rich Flinton taking 5-43 and Hargreaves 3-91.

Paul Woodhead helped promoted Cayton to victory against Kirkby 2nds, hitting a superb 136no in their total of 294-5.

Kirkby ended their knock on 153-6, Graham Jemison making 63.

Heslerton made a winning start to their Premier League campaign.

They made 248-4 as Alex Carrie made 61 in their total and then Seamer were 216-9, despite Greg Chadwick making a fine 64.

Steven Hugill (63) and Connor Carson (73) fired Scalby to a massive win at home to Nawton Grange in Division A.

Scalby smashed 302-7 with Paul Marrton (38no), Lee Kerr (32), Nigel Clapham (31) and Jon Barton (29) all pitching in.

Paul Hesp took 3-26 as Nawton were all out for 131.

Flamborough remain the only unbeaten team in the table as Simon Leeson (7-54) had Wykeham out for 167 at tea, despite James Bryant making 50.

Despite Dave Pearson claiming 5-59, Flamborough made it to their target with only two balls left and with their last pair at the crease, with Andy Leeson making an unbeaten 59.

George Rounthwaite made 86 as Settrington beat Flixton 2nds.

Settrington made 208-7 and Andy Taylor (4-12) helped see Flixton bowled out for 105.

Vince O’Grady (4-54) and Mark Pallister (3-39) helped Sewerby 2nds restrict Brid 2nds to 166-9, despite Simon Brooke’s 66.

Cameron Rusbridge-Burns made 80 as Sewerby cruised to their target.

Brompton were bowled out for just 47 at Wold Newton, and their hosts made it home for the loss of three wickets.

In Division B Chris Crawford took 7-51 as Hunmanby continued to find life in their new division comfortable.

Hunmanby collected their second win in as many games against Thornton Dale as Chris Elvidge (44) helped them to 148.

Les Welburn taking 3-12 before notching 33 with the bat.

But Crawford’s 7-51 and Dan Baldry (3-24) helped see Dale off for 103.

Sherburn also picked up their second consecutive win when they beat Forge Valley 2nds.

Valley were bowled out for 138 as Nick Dobson claimed 3-14, Ben Simpson took 4-49 and Michael Holtby took 3-25.

Craig Sanderson led the reply with 48 and Lee Jack added 28.

Staxton 2nds came out on top of a low-scoring affair at Ryedale.

Andy Dove and Jonathan Aldcroft both made 22 but 4-43 from Dan Hardey and 3-25 from Alex Ibbotson saw Ryedale in the driving seat at tea.

But only Rob Featherstone could make a telling contribution with the bat, as his 30 turned out to be the only notable score from a home batsman.

Jonathan Outhart took 3-24 and Mark Dove claimed 5-47 as Ryedale were removed for a disappointing 103.

Lewis White struck 63 for Thornton Dale but Roy Thompson’s haul of 4-14 restricted Dale to 135 at Cloughton 2nds.

Cloughton didn’t find things as easy as they’d have liked in reply to their fairly low target score.

Skipper Phil Chambers led from the front with a solid 30, and he was ably supported by Jonathan Malthouse, who added a neat 24 to help his side home to their score eight wickets down.

Chris Headlam was the most successful bowler for the visitors.

His figures of 3-51 gave Dale hope of an unlikely defence of their score, but Cloughton made it home safely to boost themselves up the table.

Dale will be looking to bounce back with their first win of the season to boost their chances of avoiding the drop.

The outstanding performance of the day came from Ebberston 2nds’ Eddie Swiers in Division C.

Swiers took sensational figures of 8-10 as Ebberston destroyed Ravenscar.

Ebberston made 124 as Will Warwick (5-44) and Dinesh Swamiwathan (4-22) restricted their visitors, but they were destroyed by Swiers.

Ravenscar were all out for just 18.

Scalby 2nds were comfortable winners at Fylingdales as Tom Gregory (5-57) helped see Dales all out for 142.

Dan Barber led Scalby’s reply with 62no and he was supported by Phil Stewart (30).

Scarborough 3rds picked up their second win in as many matches as they saw off Grindale.

Grindale were all out for just 82, Bob Carver and Chris Hunter claiming two wickets apiece in the process.

Scarborough lost seven wickets chasing down their target, Alex Renwick top scoring with 27.

Hospitals also remain unbeaten as they beat Ganton.

The game had to be switched to Scarborough RUFC and Hospitals made 171-9, Christopher Purdy and Chris Helm both made 26.

Ajay Palakottil taking 3-26 in the process.

Jay McLaren made 49 and Ashley Snowball struck 29 but Kiwi pace merchant Marcus Edwards claimed 4-52 as he restricted Ganton to 161.

In a thrilling encounter at Seamer 2nds, Wykeham 2nds came close to picking up their first win of the season.

Steven Clegg made 27 as Wykeham were bowled out for a disappointing 113 as Kev Vasey claimed figures of 3-31 and Steve Winwood took 3-32.

Seamer made hard work of chasing down their target.

John Palmer almost secured an unlikely win for Clegg’s men, taking 6-47 from 20 overs.

But Seamer’s last pair, Vasey (28no) and Chris Bryant (2no) hit the 30 runs required to win.