Duncombe Park win under-15s cup final

editorial image

Duncombe Park under-15s turned on the style last night at Ebberston Cricket Club, beating Wykeham by 40 runs in the Greenwood Hire Derwent Valley Junior Cricket League Division B KO Cup final.

Park batted first and, even though they lost a couple of quick wickets, got off to a good start mainly due to Ben Magson (13) and Jack Simpson (31) with Ben Norman (2-21) being the pick of the Wykeham opening bowlers.

After the retirement of Simpson and another wicket falling Toby Higgs (21) held the Park middle order together, but after the fall of his wicket Wykeham soon cleared up the Helmsley side’s tail with Lewis Eustace finishing with the impressive bowling figures of 3-5, Park finishing with a total of 109 all out.

In reply Wykeham were soon in trouble, losing their first two wickets at an early stage of the innings and continued to lose wickets at regular intervals, mainly due to tight bowling from Ben Magson, Toby Higgs and Jack Simpson, allied to five run-outs.

Only Toby Wrightson (25) troubled the Duncombe Park bowlers as Wykeham’s innings closed on 69 all out with Jonty Silk taking 2-2 towards the end of the innings.

Ebberston CC were thanked for the use of their excellent ground and facilities and the man of the match award, judged by umpires Michael Brodie and Les Johnson, was awarded to Duncombe Park’s Jack Simpson for his excellent innings of 31 retired and bowling figures of 1-10 from four overs.

Result: Duncombe Park 109 all out (Ben Magson 13, Jack Simpson 31 ret, Toby Higgs 21, Ben Norman 2-21, Lewis Eustace 3-5) beat Wykeham 69 all out (Toby Wrightson 25, Jonty Silk 2-2) by 40 runs