EVENING LEAGUE: Flixton fall short at Staxton

Andy Hire Evening League reports
Andy Hire Evening League reports

Staxton beat Flixton by just 16 runs, despite Harry Walmsley smashing 86 not out and Stuart Stocks adding 60.

Hosts Staxton posted 180-7, Chris Dove top-scoring with 52 and Adam Hargreaves adding 35 as Will Hutchinson took 3-17.

Walmsley and Stocks found form with the bat for Flixton, but their knock ended on 164-2, 16 runs short.

Heslerton suffered another defeat as their bid to retain their Division A title took another dent, Filey beating them by five wickets.

The champions posted 133-6, Rob Middlewood (36), Tom Benthall (27) and Neil Johnson (26) their run scorers, while Dave Brannan took 4-30.

That total wasn't enough as Aaron Howard plundered 64 and Ben Briggs added 33, Filey making it safely to 137-5.

Seamer edged a low-scoring game at home to Cloughton.

Matty Morris (3-25), helped restrict Cloughton to 67-9, beofre Harrison Wood's 29 helped Seamer to 68-7, Paul Goodenough (3-18) and Matty Mason (3-15) doing their best to make it interesting.

Matty Turnbull hit an unbeaten 72 but still ended up on the losing side as Ebberston were beaten by six wickets at Wykeham.

Ebberston posted 120-7, Matty Graves taking 3-30, before James Bryant's unbeaten 54 guided Wykeham to 121-4.

Ian Cousins smashed a superb unbeaten 93 to continue his outstanding early-season form with the bat and help Ganton to a 64-run win against Cayton A in Division B.

Ganton posted 149-3, Cayton falling well short on 85-3, Paul Miller ending on 45 not out.

Scalby hammered Cayton B by 69 runs.

Ryan Labuschagne hit 39 not out and Connor Carson weighed in with 46 as Scalby posted 155-5.

Cayton fell well short on 86 all out in reply.

Cloughton B survived a late scare to beat Wykeham B by two wickets.

Scott Wardman put on a big show with the bat, hitting 27 of Cayton's 86-7.

Liam Salt and Mark Pryce both hit 27 in reply, but Cloughton lost eight wickets as they edged to their target, C Hardwick taking 3-7.

Dan Simpson hit 70 to help Sherburn to victory against Scarborough at North Marine Road.

Simpson helped Sherburn to 138-5, Craig Sanderson adding 30, while Brad Scott took 3-41.

Sherburn ended on 110-6 in reply, Brad Milburn hitting 28 not out and S Singh 26.

Eddie Hopper shone with the ball as Scalby B won at Wykeham C in Division C.

Lewis Eustace hit 44 and Adam Bailey 34, but Hopper's 5-24 helped restrict the hosts to 128-8.

Experienced middle-order slugger Nigel Clapham plundered 39 in Scalby's reply as they made it 131-7 in the penultimate over.

Joe Bayes hit 53 not out as Ravenscar made it to 98-1, chasing down Scarborough Nomads' 95-6, Midhun Singh hitting 34.

Forge Valley A cruised to a 10-wicket win against Ebberston B.

Ebberston made 79-3, John Metcalfe hitting 25 not out.

Sean Pinder hit 36 not out and Alex Glass added 35 not out as Valley made 80-0 in reply.

Flixton B beat Staxton B by 18 runs.

Ben Chamberlain hit 33 as Flixton posted 126-7, before Cameron Anderson took 3-27 to restrict Staxton to 108-9 in reply despite Dave Aldcroft's 26.

Dave Graham hit 54 not out to help Seamer B to a 75-run win at Forge Valley B.

Seamer posted 119-4 before Rob Lazenby took stunning figures of 3-5 to help end Valley's reply on 44-7.

Muston beat Snainton by seven wickets.

Carl Wilson hit 27 as Snainton posted 104-5, Jonathan Atkinson taking 3-27.

Matthew Hall-Atkinson hit 47 not out as Muston made it to 109-3 in reply.


DIVISION A (* Denotes Home Team)

Filey 137-5 (Aaron Howard 64, Ben Briggs 33) beat *Heslerton 133-6 (Rob Middlewood 36, Tom Benthall 27, Neil Johnson 26, Dave Brannan 4-30) by 5wkts.

*Seamer A 68-7 (Harrison Wood 29, Paul Goodenough 3-18, Matty Mason 3-15) beat Cloughton A 67-9 (Matty Morris 3-25) by 3 wkts.

*Staxton A 180-7 (Adam Hargreaves 35, Chris Dove 52, Will Hutchinson 3-17) beat Flixton A 164-2 (Stuart Stocks 60, Harry Warmsley 86no) by 16 runs.

*Wykeham A 121-4 (James Bryant 54no) beat Ebberston A 120-7 (Matty Turnbull 72no, Matty Graves 3-30) by 6 wkts.


Ganton 149-3 (Ian Cousins 93no) beat *Cayton A 85-3 (Paul Miller 45no) by 64 runs

*Cloughton B 88-8 (Liam Salt 27, Mark Pryce 27, C Hardwick 3-7) beat Wykeham B 86-7 (Scott Wardman 27) by 2 wkts.

*Scalby A 155-5 (Ryan Labuschagne 39no, Connor Carson 46) beat Cayton B 86 all out by 69 runs.

Sherburn 138-5 (Craig Sanderson 30, Dan Simpson 70, Brad Scott 3-41) beat *Scarborough 110-6 (S Singh 26, Brad Milburn 28no) by 28 runs.


Forge Valley A 80-0 (Sean Pinder 36no, Alex Glass 35no) beat *Ebberston B 79-3 (John Metcalfe 25no) by 10 wkts.

*Flixton B 126-7 (Ben Chamberlain 33, Elliot Hatton 24no, K Walker 3-31) beat Staxton B 108-9 (Dave Aldcroft 26, Cameron Anderson 3-27) by 18 runs.

Seamer B 119-4 (Dave Graham 54no) beat *Forge Valley B 44-7 (Rob Lazenby 3-5) by 75 runs.

*Muston 109-3 (Matthew Hall-Atkinson 47no) beat Snainton 104-5 (Carl Wilson 27, Jonathan Atkinson 3-27) by 7 wkts.

*Ravenscar 98-1 (Joe Bayes 53no) beat Scarborough Nomads 95-6 (Midhun Singh 34) by 9 wkts.

Scalby B 131-7 (Nigel Clapham 39) beat *Wykeham C 128-8 (Lewis Eustace 44, Adam Bailey 34, E Hopper 5-24) by 3 wkts.