EVENING LEAGUE: Ganton and Filey grab promotion to the top flight

Evening League reports by Andy Bloomfield
Evening League reports by Andy Bloomfield

Ganton and Filey secured promotion to division A of the AndyHire Evening League on Tuesday night.

Ganton are now three points clear of Filey with one game left to play, so are firm favourites to clinch the Division B title.

Sam Carver’s 3-11 helped Ganton skittle 10-man Scalby B for 54 runs, Liam Cousins’ unbeaten 34 wrapping up the win.

Filey moved back into the top flight despite losing by 11 runs at second-from-bottom Ebberston B.

Adrian Turnbull, 30, and Alex Machin, 25, helped the hosts to 123-5, Dave Brannan claiming 3-22.

Ryan Baldry, 47, and Ben Briggs, 31, gave Filey a fighting chance but they slipped to 112 all out thanks to top bowling from Pete Webster, 3-21, and Tom Holmes, 3-50.

Sherburn were relegated from Division A after a six-wicket defeat at home to Heslerton.

The hosts made 92-8 and Alex Carrie’s unbeaten 33 steered Heslerton to victory in spite of top bowling from Phil Pickard, 3-21.

Jack Holt starred with bat and ball in Wykeham’s 10-wicket success at home to Flixton.

Holt took 4-18 as relegated Flixton were dismissed for 90, spinner Matt Vincent bagging 3-12, Anthony Stones smacking a defiant 51.

Holt, 61no, and Ian Spence, 28no, knocked off the required runs without loss.

Seamer won by one run at home to Ebberston.

Darrol Lewis, 30, and Adam Robertshaw, 29, shone with the bat as Seamer posted 101-7, Reece Milner claiming 4-47.

Eddie Craggs, 26, and Milner, 25, tried their best to steer Ebberston home, but Ali Caw’s 3-29 and Harrison Wood, 3-25, pegged them back to 100-9.

Chris Dove hit 57 and Paul Witty 52 as champions Staxton maintained their unbeaten record with a six-wicket win at Scalby.

The hosts made 160-2, Dave Holborn hitting 52, Joe Hills 50 and Alex White 36no.

Rob Pinder, 30, assisted Dove and Witty as Staxton secured the win.

Wykeham B made sure of their promotion from Division C with a five-wicket win at Muston.

Scott Wardman snapped up 3-19 as the hosts reached 96-8, Phil Robson top scoring with 25.

Toby Wrightson’s 44 then wrapped up the win, and promotion, for the away team.

Seamer B, who are already promoted, ensured they stayed in top spot with a 10-wicket win at Cayton B.

Openers Gary Dixon, 51no, and Craig Baker, 47no, swept the visitors to victory in reply to Cayton’s 100-6.

Tom Poor, 36no, and Simon Stubbs, 31, were the leading batsmen for the Station Road side.