Finalists Staxton and Ebberston set to meet in Harburn Cup

Division A and B winners Staxton (left) and Ganton, are ready for the new campaign
Division A and B winners Staxton (left) and Ganton, are ready for the new campaign

The two finalists of the 2015 Harburn Cup, Staxton and Ebberston, will meet in the first round of this year's competition.

Staxton skipper Dan Bulman smashed 11 runs in the last over of last year's final at North Marine Road to seal his side a tense win with just one ball to spare.

The sides will now meet on June 3, while Seamer host Heslerton, Wykeham welcome Scalby and Ganton travel to Filey.

The final of the competition is at North Marine Road on Friday July 15.

In the Hunter Cup, Sherburn play Scalby B, Cayton take on Scarborough, Flixton welcome Wykeham B and Cloughton are at home to Seamer B.

The sides are all vying to make the final at North Marine Road on Monday August 1.

The Division C Cup, formerly known as the McCain Cup and then the Andy Hire Cup, has a new identity for 2016 and will be known as the Lloyd Dowson Cricket Cup.

Cayton B take on Muston, Staxton B meet Forge Valley B, Ebberston B are at home to Forge Valley and Wykeham C play Snainton.

The final of that competition is at Flixton on Tuesday July 26.

The league constitutions were passed at the league's annual AGM.

Division A consists of eight teams, Staxton, Seamer, Ebberston, Scalby, Wykeham, Heslerton, Ganton and Filey.

Division B also has eight teams, Sherburn, Flixton, Cloughton, Scalby B, Cayton, Scarborough, Seamer B and Wykeham B.

There's a new side in Division C after Flixton B's application to the league was accepted by member clubs.

They'll meet Ebberston B, Forge Valley, Staxton B, Cayton B, Muston, Ravenscar, Wykeham C, Snainton, Forge Valley B, Valley Bar Nomads and Cloughton B.

The new season gets under way on Tuesday May 3 and reaches a conclusion on Tuesday August 2.

All committee members were re-elected, while Sharon Blackstone from league sponsor AndyHire has joined the league's committee.

A minute's silence was held before the meeting got under way in memory of Phil Main (Seamer), Bill Foord (Yorkshire and Scarborough), Alan Stead (Sewerby), Cliff Farnaby (Cayton and Staxton), Ken Towse (Bridlington), Dennis Ashworth (Brompton), Andy Williamson (Fylingdales) Bob Carr (Pickering) and Maurice Medd (Marishes).