Hovingham wrap up title triumph

Hovingham were confirmed as the Ryedale Beckett League champions following their eighth win of the season, away to Settrington.

Tom Lund’s side easily knocked off the Settrington total of 95 in just 10 overs with Geoff Pears, 20, Paul Deverill, 17, causing the damage along with Tom Lund, clearly in a rush to celebrate at the Ham and Cheese, as his 22 was scored off just five balls.

Dave Chugg, 3-41, again produced a fine spell for Settrington.

With neither team able to win the league, Harome and Kirkbymoorside used this fixture to blood some of their younger players.

Gareth Skelton for Kirkby and Nathan Marwood and Sam Newton for Harome all showed promise with the ball.

Harome’s total of 172-4 was indicative of the wickets finally drying out after one of the wettest seasons on record. This score was due largely to a half-century from Josh Greenlay, 56no, Mark Haines, 48, and Nick Thornicroft 33.

In reply, Kirkby managed to muster 110-6, Mark Fairweather top-scoring with 39no and Jimmy Harper adding 28.

The 62-run winning margin saw Harome leapfrog the Moorsiders in the table to clinch the runners-up spot.

Following the match both teams enjoyed the hospitality of Harome’s team sponsor, The Star Inn, who put on a fantastic spread of food as they have done for all home games throughout the season.

Duncombe Park’s 11-run victory over Pickering moved them up to third position in the league table.

Captain Johnathon Leckenby’s decision to rotate the batting order paid dividends as the 46 he scored along with 31 from Johnnie Birbeck set a challenging 132-6.

Pickering made a good fist of the challenge with Ben Lealman, 20, getting off to a quick start but maturity was shown by 14-year-old Adam Leckenby, whose opening four-over spell of 3-18 kept a tight rein on the Pikes’ early cavalry charge.

Ryan Boyes, 38no, batted determinedly in the latter stages, but the experienced Dave Dunn, 1-21, held his nerve at the end to see Park home.

Interestingly the Park scorebook could become somewhat of a collectors piece in the future as the number 11 batter on this occasion, as DB Leckenby (Brian), has the letters DNB written alongside his name.

The clash of the two relegated sides went the way of Burythorpe, who managed to overtake the 112-4 target set by Malton, easily winning by eight wickets.

Andy Milner rolled back the years to produce a match-winning 74no to upstage Wayne Dawson, 70no, who earlier had formed the backbone of the Malton innings.

Des Healy once again showed his ability, exploiting the conditions to take all four Malton wickets to fall for 23.

The Burythorpe victory was achieved with an over to spare, to end their season on a high despite finishing in the relegation zone.

As for Malton there couldn’t be a more remarkable transformation in fortunes.

Having won the league last year they find themselves as wooden spoonists this time around and have to reflect on what has been a disappointing season for them.