Jeminson shines to collect premier division honours

Kirkbymoorside spin bowler Daniel Jeminson will collect the award for most wickets in the Readers Scarborough Beckett League Premier Division season.

Tuesday, 25th November 2014, 3:12 pm
Forge Valley skipper Tom Brough finds the boundary backward of square-leg on his way to 574 runs, winning him the premier division award

Jeminson took an impressive 46 wickets to claim the accolade, alongside this award he will also receive the John Lockey Memorial Trophy for taking the most wickets in the four divisions.

Forge Valley’s Tom Brough will receive this season’s batting award for most runs in the premier division as he racked up 574 runs.

Jake Keyworth took 11 catches in the field for Heslerton this season which will see him take the fielding award for 2014 while another Heslerton man, Sam Triffitt, will take the wicket-keeping award as he claimed 18 victims behind the stumps.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Nawton Grange batsmen Jonny Pickard will take division A’s batting award for reaching an impressive total of 435 runs while helping his team to achieve promotion to the Premier Division.

Fast bowler Oliver West of Wold Newton took 44 wickets this season to end as the leagues leading wicket-taker.

Wykeham man David Pearson ended up on top of the fielding leaderboard after taking a handy 12 catches. Grindale wicket-keeper, Simon Battams, ended the season with a tally of 18 for the number of dismissals this season to achieve his award.

Ian Smith claims the batting award in division B after his 543 runs for Ryedale.

Lee Oliver bagged himself the bowling award after taking 33 wickets for Thornton Dale this season, while Phil Stentiford of Fylingdales and Brad Miburn from Scarborough 3rds share the spoils in the fielding award after taking nine catches each.

Mulgrave keeper Kieran Noble claimed 30 dismissals.

In division C, batsmen Joe Bayes accumulated 543 runs for Ravenscar to take the batting award, fellow Ravenscar men Dinesh Swaminathan and Will Warwick also collect prizes on the night.

Swaminathan took 32 wickets while Warwick chipped in with a helpful eight catches to round off a good year for Ravenscar after gaining promotion as runners-up.

Jamie Agar (Fylingdales 2nds) and Rory Skelton (Seamer 2nds) share the wicket-keeping award after both men claim eight victims.

In the Paul Cooper Memorial Awards two Scarborough 3rd team men get the prizes.

Kieran Howard takes the batting award with 278 runs andDavid Snowball the bowling award after 25 wickets.

Secretary Simon Dobson said ‘The league offers full congratulations to all the individual merit award winners for 2014, deservedly placing them in the leagues Hall of Fame.”

The Spirit of Cricket Shields were won by Heslerton in the premier division and Wykeham in division A, while Wykeham also won the Most Improved Ground Award.

Secretary Dobson added: “I would like to congratulate both clubs on winning these prestigious awards”

The memorial trophies, spirit of cricket shields and ground awards will be presented at the AGM in January.