Kirkby win seals title and sends Brid down

Kirkbymoorside, along with rivals Cloughton, had secured their promotion back to the top flight a week earlier, so the final weekend would decide which side would claim the title.

The Moorsiders put relegation-battling visitors Bridlington 2nds into bat at Kirkby with skipper Greg Miller, 35, leading the attack but Dan Jeminson, 4-49, and Martin Charlton, 3-32, had the seasiders all back in the pavilion for 109.

In reply the home team cemented the championship when Jodie Robson smashed a six taking the Moorsiders to victory by 10 wickets, the explosive Robson finishing unbeaten with 72 and Phil Charlton adding 35.

The defeat relegated Bridlington.

Kirkby’s only challengers for the title, Cloughton, did all they could to keep the pressure on scoring 153 on the cliff-top at Sewerby 2nds.

Jake Dudding, 33, Paul Virr, 25, and Kev Keld, 32, were the leading away scorers, stalwart Mark Pallister, 4-20, and Dominic Warters, 3-58, impressing for the hosts.

But after the break Dudding, 4-23, and Mark Bennett, 4-27, bowled Sewerby out for 97 despite Rob Atkin scoring 24.

Craig Sanderson, 60no, was in rampant form for Sherburn when rain ended any further play at his old club Snainton after 30.4 overs, Steve Eyre claiming 4-39 for the home team.

Wykeham v Brompton was abandoned with no play possible, a result that sent Wykeham down to Division B next season and Wold Newton v Nawton Grange was also abandoned.