Prize time for Derwent Valley stars

editorial image

The Derwent Valley Cricket League’s top performers were rewarded for their efforts during the 2012 season at last night’s AGM in Ayton

With 329 runs, John Bayes of Ravenscar won the division A batting award.

Matthew Webster, of Heslerton 2nds, scooped the top flight’s bowling award with 34 wickets, club official Paul Nutt collecting the trophy on his behalf.

Ravenscar, who were promoted to the Beckett Leaguer as runners-up last season, claimed their second trophy of the night thanks to Jish Rewcroft, who won the catching prize for his seven catches.

Beckett League secretary Ashley Winspear won the wicketkeeping prize for division A with eight victims, a total which helped his Ebberston 2nds side to victory in the top flight.

Division B’s awards got underway with Andy Dixon of Flamborough 2nds strolling away with the batting award for his immense 597 runs during the 2012 season.

Great Habton’s Will Curtis took 30 wickets in a season which saw his team claim promotion as champions to secure the bowling award, while his team-mate Robin Richardson took 11 catches to claim the divisional catching trophy.

Ten victims saw Sewerby 4ths’ Ryan Bartham Snr snap up the wicket-keeping award.

Nawton Grange 2nds dominated the awards in division ‘C’, the runners-up in the division claiming three out of the four trophies on offer.

Gary Wardell, of Hunmanby, stopped a clean sweep by Grange as he won the batting award for his 419 runs.

Nawton’s George Bentley took 28 wickets as he grabbed the bowling award, and their second trophy of the night went to teenager James Dunn who took the catching award back to Ryedale as he managed eight catches for the season.

The final award of the night, and Grange’s third, went to another rising star, Danny Thornton, whose nine victims earned him the wicket-keeping honours,