Duo sign up for Saturday League

Nick David, right
Nick David, right

Two new clubs were voted in to the Scarborough News Saturday League at tonight’s AGM.

Falsgrave Reserves, who will play in Filey, and Athletico2B, who hope to be based at Oliver’s Mount, will join division three.

Former Ganton veteran John Chalk will manage Falsgrave Reserves, while Nick David, who played for Newlands and managed Scholes Park under-16s last term, will take over at Athletico2B.

Two clubs withdrew from the league however, subsequently keeping the number of member teams at 34.

Eastfield St James Reserves resigned from division two, while Ganton pulled out of division three after a difficult campaign last season.

The league’s committee and member clubs voted to keep the constitution at 12 clubs in division one and 11 in both divisions two and three.

This resulted in Rillington Athletic keeping their slot in division two, despite finishing second bottom last season.

FC Soba would have been asked if they would take up a third promotion spot from division three, but they weren’t in attendance so Rillington kept their place.

Fishburn Park were awarded the Fair Play Award by President Sid Wiffen, while Ryedale won the Linesman’s Award, voted for by referees throughout the season.

A number of mandatory rule changes were imposed on the league by the Football Association, only two of which are relevant to Scarborough clubs.

All players must be part of a personal accident scheme by the start of the 2013-14 campaign.

In another FA rule change, players who return from a lengthy spell of suspension will be monitered by the league to ensure their behaviour has improved.

The league season will commence on Saturday September 1 2012, and will conclude on Saturday April 30 2013.

Full league constitution:

Division one: Ayton, Eastfield St James, Edgehill, Filey Town, Fishburn Park, Hunmanby United, Newlands, Ryedale, Seamer, Westover Wasps, West Pier, Whitby Fishermen.

Division two: Cayton Corinthians, Edgehill Reserves, Falsgrave, Filey Town Reserves, Flixton, Nelson, Newlands Park Reserves, Rillington Athletic, Rosette, Scalby, Snainton.

Division three: Athletico2B, Ayton Reserves, Cayton Corinthians Reserves, Falsgrave Reserves, FC Soba, Scalby Reserves, Seamer Reserves, Sleights, Westover Wasps Reserves, West Pier Reserves, Whitby RUFC.

See scarboroughnews.co.uk/sport tomorrow for full list of cup draws.