New boys Town voted into Teesside League

SCARBOROUGH Town were one of seven new teams voted in at the Teesside League AGM at Stokesley.

McCains-based Town will line up in the new-look league, which will comprise of two 14-team divisions and will kick off their league action on Saturday August 9.

There was a late resignation from division one last night when Darlington SRM pulled out, and new applicants the Miners also failed to turn up, so rather than two divisions of 15 the league was split into two 14-team divisions.

A week before the league games, on Saturday August 2, there is a charity shield-type game, the JV Madden Trophy, between league champions BEADS and Macmillan Bowl winners Guisborough Quoit Club.

Teesside League set-up

Division one: BEADS, Grangetown BC, Thornaby Dubliners, Darlington Rugby Club, Guisborough Quoit Club, Richmond Mavericks, Nunthorpe Athletic, Fishburn Park, Stokesley, Richmond Town, Darlington RA, Bedale, North Ormesby, Darlington Cleveland.

Division two: Coble Ennis Square, South Bank St Peters, Great Ayton United, Billingham Town Reserves, Teesside Athletic, Whinney Banks YCC, Billingham Kader, Scarborough Town, Acklam Steelworks, Coulby Newham, Grangetown YCC, St Mary's College, Redcar Rugby Club, Norton & Stockton Ancients Reserves.