Sunday League set to drop to two divisions

Sunday League set to drop to two divisions
Sunday League set to drop to two divisions

Sunday League clubs will vote whether to drop down to two divisions at a meeting next week after the league’s committee voted to propose the withdrawal of the third division last night.

Following the last minute resignations of division one sides Seamer and Shakespeare, the committee were left with just six teams left in the top flight.

If the clubs vote through the league committee’s proposal at their secretary’s meeting next Wednesday night, division one will consist of 10 teams, with division two comprising 12 sides to complete the new-look set-up.

The proposed new constitution:

DIVISION ONE (10 teams): Newlands, Klosters, Trafalgar, West Pier, Filey Flyers, Tennyson, Itis Itis, Fylingdales, Cayton, Roscoes Bar.

DIVISION TWO (12 teams): Ayton, Commercial, Whitby Wanderers, Alma FC, Castle FC, Angel, Heslerton, Fylingdales Reserves, West Pier Reserves, Trafalgar Reserves, Tennyson Reserves, Newlands Reserves.

The rolling substitutes rule that was voted in last season for division three would now be scrapped, while there would also changes to the cups.

The new Goalsports Trophy, which replaces the McCain Cup, will be for division two teams only, comprising of four groups of three teams with the winner of each group proceeding into the semi-finals.

The Senior Cup will be open only to division one teams with the top three teams from last season receiving a bye alongside three more randomly drawn sides.

In the Kenward Cup, all teams will be entered, with 10 receiving a bye and the 12 remaining sides bidding to make the last 16.

Both Seamer and Shakespeare are to be charged and fined, with all their registered players from last season suspended and unable to register for another club until the fines are paid.

It is also proposed that all clubs who pay their league fees by the deadline of Thursday August 15 will be given free entry to all the cup competitions.

Have your say. Email or tweet @mrdanielgregory