Chilton earns victory at Scarborough DMC event

Andy Chilton on his way to victory at Harwood Dale
Andy Chilton on his way to victory at Harwood Dale
Share this article

Whitby’s rider, 22-year-old Andy Chilton added the Scarborough DMC’s Jacky Baxter Trophy to his list of achievements at a dull, but dry Harwood Dale on Sunday, defeating the three-lap, 12-section course with an unpenalised ride.

It was no easy victory as Richmond’s Rob Waite, pressured him all the way, but a five lost on the awkward jump across rocks of section five gave ‘Chilly’ the breathing space he needed and fellow Beta rider Jack Howell, from Port Mulgrave, put a good return ride together to finish third on nine lost.

Jack Howell

Jack Howell

Chilton’s clean rides on the tight double rock step of 11 were exceptional, flicking the bike from rock to rock all in one fluid motion, as it had to be on the ‘No Stop’ rules. No one could match that. Rob Carter ruled the Intermediate class, leaving motocross men Jonno Taylor and Stevie Hind in the minor placings.

Scarborough’s Alan Carr improves with age like a vintage wine, pipping the usually rock solid Colin Bailey by one mark.

Level on two each at the start of the final lap, Bailey threw one away on the relatively easy first, dropping him to runner up with Nigel Todd from Thirsk taking third.

A superb ride from Kate Hunter to secure a hard-fought win in B class on most clean rule.

Rob Waite

Rob Waite

The Thornton-le-Dale teenager held off a strong challenge from the experienced trio of Nigel Wallace, Chris Wright and Dave Chilton.

Apart from five lost on the first, she rattled off a string of clean rides over the first six sections that the others had no answer to.


Expert: Andy Chilton (Beta 0, Rob Waite (Beta) 7, Jack Howell (Beta 9.

Intermediate: Rob Carter (Gas Gas) 22, Jon Taylor (Beta) 35, Steven Hind ( Gas Gas) 44.

C/man A: Alan Carr (Gas Gas) 2, Colin Bailey ( Beta) 3, Nigel Todd (Beta) 4, Stephen Bennett (Gas Gas) 7.

C/man B: Kate Hunter (Gas Gas) 17m/c`s, Nigel Wallis (Gas Gas) 17, Chris Wright ( Honda) 17, Dave Chilton (Beta) 19, Gary Webster (Beta) 19, Paul Harrison (Gas Gas) 19.

Adult white route: Paul Turton (TY175) 61.

Youth A: Dan Peace (JST Gas Gas) 12, Jack Peace (JST Gas Gas) 58, Michael Todd ((Feetup Gas Gas) 59.

Youth B: Zac Collinson (Feetup Beta) 20, James Harland (Gas Gas) 47, Callum Williamson ( Acklams Beta) 49.

Youth D: Claire Collinson (Beta) 33.

Youth Novice: Lewis Woodall (Gas Gas) 41.

Youth white route: Lewis Fairbank (Beta) 66, John Turton (TY Yamaha) 111.