Harrison earns Atkinson Cup victory

Kirkbymoorside's Jack Peace in action
Kirkbymoorside's Jack Peace in action

With many riders keen for British Championship points and riding at Fell Green, Bootle, Hull AC’s Mark Williamson flagged sections accordingly and on a wet, blustery day, Kirkbymoorside heating engineer Mark Harrison grabbed the Sir Arthur Atkinson Cup with a typical, consistent ride to beat Scarborough’s Gary Collinson by nine marks.

But it was the up and coming youngster Jack Peace - also from Kirkbymoorside - who produced the ride of the day to win Youth Expert class on a score of 11, just four marks down on the experienced Harrison.

Held at the popular Piethorn Farm, Helmsley, the trial drew an entry of 53 despite tractor rallies and other trials taking place locally.

Harrison appeared in relaxed mood and although only riding occasionally now, his clean rides on section two and nine kept him ahead of Collinson.

Middlesbrough’s Jak Holtby and Shane Monkman from nearby Wombleton were well matched in Intermediates, but the gully of three let Monkman down, losing nine here compared to Holtby’s ride of one.

Middlesbrough’s Nick Coleby nailed a second Clubman A win as he continues his return to form, but it proved tight as Yarm’s Graham Scott pushed him all the way, only to lose out by just one mark.

Also from Yarm, heating engineer John Bullen topped the Clubman B class, again just the one-mark difference, pushing Guisborough’s Andy Waugh - aboard the Fantic - into runner-up and Zac Collinson and Stephen Dennis won youth A and B respectively.


Expert: Mark Harrison (Gas Gas) 7, Gary Collinson (Gas Gas) 16.

Youth Expert Course: Jack Peace (Apico Beta) 11.

Intermediate: Jak Holtby (Gas Gas) 19, Shane Monkman (Gas Gas) 26, Jonathon Frost (Montesa) 30.

C/man A: Nick Coleby (TWR Gas Gas) 17, Graham Scott (Beta) 18, Alan Carr (Gas Gas) 24.

Youth Green Route: Zac Collinson (Beta) 15, Callum Williamson (Acklams Beta) 26, Jack Walker (Gas Gas) 35.

C/man B: John Bullen (Gas Gas) 1, Andy Waugh (Fantic) 2, John Stones (Beta) 4, Phil Clough (Sherco) 5.

Youth Yellow Route: Stephen Dennis (Gas Gas) 18, Louis Walker (Beta) 64, Claire Collinson (Beta) 112, Richard Pulman (Gas Gas) 119.