Richardson’s stars shine at annual awards evening

Reuben Allanson shows off his junior award
Reuben Allanson shows off his junior award

The Richardson’s Cycling Club fourth annual dinner and awards evening for cycling achievements by members in 2012 was held at the Stephen Joseph Theatre restaurant.

Members voted Reuben Allanson the most improved junior rider, he has developed his skill and speed on a mountain bike.

Steve Hopper was voted the senior rider who has shown the most improvement.

Frazer Clacherty was rewarded for success in regional and national mountain bike races for the TEF/ Richardson’s team.

He won the Adam Everingham Trophy.

Russ Cryer was a worthy winner of the club award in the season long competition to find the fastest aggregate time up five hill climbs on a mountain bike.

Dan Joyce was the fastest club member up five hill climbs on the road, he also won the award for the fastest time trial average speed over the year.

The Boyes Award for the club member who is voted by his peers to have given most service to the club went to Bryden Simpson.

The inaugural series of mountain bike races for children aged four to 16 years, run by Richardson’s CC and approved by British Cycling, was organised by Bryden in 2012.

He inspired his team of volunteers to arrange six events over the summer months, 45 youngsters, girls and boys, took part in the final event in Dalby Forest.

The series of events attracted youngsters from Bridlington, York, Holmfirth and Guisborough, as well as from Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough and Whitby.

Richardson’s Cycling Club now has 120 members, and the club provides cycling opportunities for children and adults, girls and women, boys and men, coaching and skills teaching for youngsters through Go Ride and Youth Academy.

Members can ride off-road on mountain bikes or if they prefer ride on the road. All levels are catered for starting with gentle guided rides through the range of activities including competition events on the road and off-road.