Films and streamings on at Scarborough's Stephen Joseph Theatre in October

An Oscar-winning modern classic, new British films, ballet, some of the world’s greatest opera stars, and scary movies for all the family are on the big screen at Scarborough’s Stephen Joseph Theatre.

Wednesday, 16th September 2020, 1:50 pm
Updated Wednesday, 16th September 2020, 2:05 pm
Alfie Boe and Michael Ball
Alfie Boe and Michael Ball

The venue has been awarded the VisitEngland ‘We’re Good to Go’ industry standard mark, signifying that it adheres to government and public health guidance.

It has introduced a comprehensive programme of measures for the safety and comfort of cinema patrons, including limited capacities and aisle access for every pair of seats booked.

Films/streamings in October are:

Matthew Bourne’s The Red Shoes (captured live): Matthew Bourne’s triumphant adaptation of the legendary film returns, having won two Olivier Awards and dazzled audiences across the UK and the USA. The Red Shoes is a tale of obsession, possession and one girl's dream to be the greatest dancer in the world.

Thursday October 1 at 2pm; Friday October 2 at 7pm; Saturday October 3 at 2pm, Sunday October 4 at 2pm

Parasite (film – black and white version): The South Korean dark comedy thriller that became the first non-English language film to win Best Picture at this year’s Academy Awards.

Thursday October 1 at 7pm

The Man in the Hat (film): The man in the hat, Ciarán Hinds, journeys through France in a Fiat 500, accompanied by a framed photograph of an unknown woman, and pursued by five angry men in a Citroën Dyane. Why are they chasing him? And how can he shake them off?

Friday October 2 at 2pm; Saturday October 3 at 7pm; Tuesday October 6, Wednesday October 7 at 7pm; Thursday October 8 at 2pm

Three Tenors: Voices For Eternity (event cinema): It’s 30 years since Pavarotti, Carreras and Domingo made their historic debut as The Three Tenors. A global audience of 1.6 billion people watched that groundbreaking concert – and it catapulted classical music into a completely new dimension, becoming the bestselling classical album of all time. Three Tenors: Voices For Eternity celebrates the emotional highlights of the first concert and the sequel in Los Angeles, with brand new interviews and never-before-seen backstage footage.

Thursday October 8 at 7pm; Saturday October 10 at 2pm

23 Walks (film): Alison Steadman and Dave Cole star in this charming new British movie. Dave and Fern meet walking their dogs in a North London park. Over the course of 23 walks together romance begins to blossom – but the two also hide secrets which could derail their newfound love.

Friday October 9 at 2pm and 7pm; Saturday October 10, Tuesday October 13 and Wednesday October 14 at 7pm; Thursday October 15 at 2pm

Eternal Beauty (film): A stellar British cast including Sally Hawkins, David Thewlis, Billie Piper and Penelope Wilton star in this new British film, which sees Hawkins as Jane, a fragile but also irrepressible woman who hears voices and has paranoid episodes. It’s directed by actor turned writer-director Craig Roberts, who played Hawkins’ son in the indie hit Submarine.

Friday October 16 at 2pm & 7pm; Saturday October 17 at 2pm; Tuesday October 20 at 7pm; Thursday October 22 at 2pm & 7pm

Michael Ball and Alfie Boe – Back Together (captured live): The singing duo are ‘Back Together’ and set to delight cinema audiences up and down the country with the final show of their sold-out tour.

Saturday October 17 at 7pm; Sunday October 18 at 2pm

Fright Fest by the Sea (films): A week of scary movies with terror levels suitable for all the family, including:

The Village of the Damned

Friday October 23 at 2pm, Saturday October 24 at 7pm

An American Werewolf in London

Friday October 23 at 7pm, Tuesday October 27 at 7pm, Wednesday October 28 at 2pm

The Addams Family

Saturday October 24 at 2pm, Tuesday October 27 at 2pm, Wednesday October 28 at 7pm, Thursday October 29 at 2pm, Friday October 30 at 2pm

Carry On Screaming

Thursday October 29 at 7pm, Saturday October 31 at 2pm

The Shining

Friday October 30 and Saturday October 31 at 7pm

A message from the editor

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

In order for us to continue to provide high quality and trusted local news on this free-to-read site, I am asking you to also please purchase a copy of our newspaper.

Our journalists are highly trained and our content is independently regulated by IPSO to some of the highest standards in the world. The dramatic events of 2020 are having a major impact on many of our local valued advertisers and consequently the advertising that we receive. We are now more reliant than ever on you helping us to provide you with news by buying a copy of our newspaper.

Thank you

Jean MacQuarrie

Editor-in-Chief