See who will be chairing Scarborough Council committees this coming year

Scarborough Council has named the councillors who will chair its major committees for the coming year.

By Carl Gavaghan, Local Democracy Reporting Service
Thursday, 6th May 2021, 4:32 pm
Updated Thursday, 6th May 2021, 4:34 pm
Scarborough Town Hall.
Scarborough Town Hall.

At yesterday’s full council meeting, the councillors voted for the chairmen and vice-chairmen with the Labour and Independent coalition taking home the majority of the roles.

Labour’s Subash Sharmer was voted in as chairman of the Planning and Development Committee, beating Conservative Phil Trumper.

Cllr Sharmer will replace his fellow Labour member Eric Broadbent, who will be sworn in as the Mayor of Scarborough later this month.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

Independent Group member John Casey won the vote to be the deputy on the committee over Conservative Clive Pearson.

A Labour councillor will also helm the Licensing Committee as Stewart Campbell overcame the challenge of Yorkshire Coast Independents Alliance leader Neil Heritage to be named chairman.

Former Conservative Jane Mortimer, who now sits with no political affiliation, was named vice-chairman over Conservative Roberta Swiers.

Andrew Backhouse (Ind) retained the chairmanship of the Audit Committee over David Chance (Con).

Labour’s Alex Bailey will also continue as the vice-chairman after coming out on top in a vote against Conservative Heather Phillips.

Finally, Independent Paul Riley was voted in as vice-chairman of the Standards Committee ahead of Conservative Guy Coulson.

Conservative Simon Green was unapposed as chairman of Standards.

The Conservatives had previously secured the chairman positions on the two new scrutiny committees so a vote was not required at yesterday’s meeting.

David Jeffels will lead the Lives and Homes Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Guy Coulson will oversee the Places and Futures Scrutiny Committee.