Tour de Yorkshire timings revealed

The highly anticipated start and finish times for the Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed, along with the ceremonial start routes.

Friday, 18th March 2016, 2:05 pm
Updated Friday, 18th March 2016, 2:06 pm
Lars Petter Nordhaug (Team Sky) wins the opening stage at the Tour de Yorkshire in Scarborough. The Norwegian was a part of a five-rider breakaway that made it to the finish line where he out sprinted his rivals. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) finished second in the sprint and Stephane Rossetto (Cofidis) was third. Tour de Yorkshire Stage 1- Bridlington to Scarborough. 1 May 2015. Picture Bruce Rollinson

Millions of spectators are expected to line the route of the three day men’s race and one day women’s race which run between Friday April 29 and Sunday May 1.

Scarborough will host the dramatic finale to the race on the Sunday, where the overall winner of the event will be crowned.

Last year, more than 10,000 people lined the streets of the town to cheer home the riders on Stage One of the inaugural race.

In 2016 Stage Three will begin at 11.10am on Sunday in Captain Cook’s hometown of Middlesbrough.

A spokesman for orgainser’s Welcome to Yorkshire added: “From the start point at Centre Square and th Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art, the riders will ride past the historic Gazette newspaper building on Borough Road before heading into Teesside University’s new Campus Heart.

“They will then head down Linthorpe Road to the Cenotaph and through Albert Park, before heading up Marton Road and past the new Middlesbrough Sports Village. A quick detour will see them ride through Stewart Park and past the birthplace of Captain Cook before heading through Marton to the official race start on the A172 to the south of Nunthorpe.

“Those who raced in 2015 will find some of the stage familiar from Stage One of the inaugural race; route planners have fitted in a total of six KoM on this stage alone, promising a thrilling race right down to the finish line in Scarborough.

“Key points along the route include a sprint at Thirsk at 12.51pm, the first KOM at Sutton Bank at 1.06pm, Blakey Ridge at 1.54pm, Grosmont at 2.46pm, a sprint at Whitby at 3.06pm, and three further KoMs at Robin Hood’s Bay at 3.23pm, “Harwood Dale at 3.44pm and Oliver’s Mount at 4.16pm before crossing the line in Scarborough at 4.25pm.

“A number of events and festivals are being held by communities across the county to celebrate the race.

“Some of these include Stokesley’s TourFest, which features live music, food stalls and street entertainers, Middlesbrough’s Enjoy the Ride festival, with a celebratory carnival, community stage and street theatre, and similar events at Monk Fryston and Hillam, near Selby, Sutton Bank and Danby.”

The list of teams and riders will be announced on Wednesday.