Adam Lyth retained by Northern Supercharges for The Hundred

Adam Lyth's busy schedule for 2021 grew further after he was retained by Leeds-based franchise the Northern Superchargers ahead of the first season of the inaugural The Hundred this summer.

Adam Lyth has been retained by the Northern Superchargers
Adam Lyth has been retained by the Northern Superchargers

Lyth is joined by Yorkshire teammate Tom Kohler-Cadmore, the pair were Yorkshire’s two leading runscorers in the Vitality Blast over the past three seasons.

The Whitby man and former Scarborough Cricket Club batsman said: “This is going to be an exciting new chapter for cricket in this country and to get the opportunity to represent the north when The Hundred begins this summer is an honour.

"I have enjoyed a good relationship with Tom at the top of the order for Yorkshire and we’ll go all out to continue that with the Superchargers this summer.”

They are joined by Bess Heath and Helen Fenby, who have both committed to the team in purple after they were a part of the Northern Diamonds squad that reached last summer’s Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final.

Northern Superchargers are one of eight new teams taking part in The Hundred, a new 100-ball competition that is designed to throw open cricket’s doors to everyone.

Boasting world class men’s and women’s players, it will take place this summer and feature eight city-based teams from Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London. It will be screened live by Sky and the BBC.

Fenby added: “Women’s cricket in this country has so much to look forward to over the next couple of years and the start of The Hundred is probably the competition that we’re all looking forward to the most.

"I feel very lucky that I’ll get to play for my home team in the north and hopefully do us all proud.”

More than 100 players have now confirmed for the highly anticipated competition with all of the eight city-based teams confirming signings today.

England Men’s internationals Jonny Bairstow and Tom Banton have committed to Welsh Fire while World Cup winner Jason Roy confirmed he will stay at London-based Oval Invincibles.

Manchester Originals have announced a number of world-class players with South African duo Lizelle Lee and Mignon du Preez signing up, alongside the exciting talents of Phil Salt and Joe Clarke.

London Spirit have also made strides in securing their overseas signings with Pakistani quick bowler Mohammad Amir, and a pair of all-rounders with Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi and South Africa’s Chloe Tryon all due to represent the side at Lord’s.

The remaining retained men’s players will be announced on February 4 while the women’s squads will continue to be announced in the coming months.

Full list of signings announced today:

Birmingham Phoenix: Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Tom Helm, Benny Howell, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood

London Spirit: Mohammad Amir, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Jade Dernbach, Danielle Gibson, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals: Joe Clarke, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Phil Salt

Northern Superchargers: Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Adam Lyth

Oval Invincibles: Megan Belt, Alex Blake, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rhianna Southby, Nathan Sowter

Southern Brave: Lauren Bell, Alex Davies, Sonia Odedra, Max Waller

Trent Rockets: Kathryn Bryce, Matthew Carter, Abbey Freeborn, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney

Welsh Fire: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith