Five new teams join Greenwood Hire Junior Cricket League

Five new teams were voted in at the Greenwood Hire Derwent Valley Junior Cricket League AGM at Sherburn Cricket Club.

By Andy Bloomfield
Friday, 6th February 2015, 12:43 pm

Snainton’s application to join division B of the under-15s league was accepted, as was Ebberston and Kirkbymoorside’s in the under-13s league and Mulgrave and Nawton Grange’s in the under-11s competition.

The meeting had a full attendance of 19 member clubs, which was brought up to 20 by the addition of new club Mulgrave.

A proposal for a change of rule to be allowed to play eight-a-side matches in the under-15s league was carried by six for and four against.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

The rationale behind this change was to hopefully make it easier for the smaller village clubs to be able to put out a side.

League sponsor (Greenwood Hire) announced they had agreed to continue with sponsorship for the 2015 season.

Twenty-eight junior players received their individual League Merit Awards which were presented by League President Derek Hall.

Roll of honour

Under-15s division A

Batting: Callum Battams (Bridlington A) 208 runs

Bowling: Ashley Porter (Sewerby) 15 wickets

Fielding: Will Hutchinson (Flixton) eight catches.

Wicketkeeping: Marley Ward (Flixton) seven victims

Under-15s division B

Batting: Toby Wrightson (Wykeham) 117 runs

Bowling: Ben Norman (Wykeham) 10 wickets

Fielding: Ben Magson (Duncombe Park), Charlie Hopper (Scalby) four catches

Wicketkeeping: Toby Wrightson (Wykeham) four victims

Under-13s zone one

Batting: Jack Heslehurst (Scarborough) 243 runs

Bowling: Finley Ward (Flixton) 14 wickets

Fielding: Will Hutchinson (Flixton) seven catches

Wicketkeeping: Marley Ward (Flixton) nine victims

Under-13s zone two

Batting: Owen Cowton (Pickering A) 188 runs

Bowling: Tom Dawson (Pickering A) 15 wickets

Fielding: Joe Harland (Pickering A) six catches

Wicketkeeping: Owen Cowton (Pickering A) 10 victims

Under-11s zone one

Batting: Ben Leeson (Bridlington) 168 runs

Bowling: Callum Hatton (Sewerby) 10 wickets

Fielding: Elliot Hatton (Sewerby) four catches

Wicketkeeping: Dan Hill (Cayton), Alfie Kendall (Flixton) three victims

Under-11s zone one

Batting: Tom Owen (Wykeham) 101 runs

Bowling: Tom Fairburn (Duncombe Park) 16 wickets

Fielding: Kit Saggers (Duncombe Park) five catches

Wicketkeeping: Max Lane (Wykeham) four victims