Hard hitting Aussie Aaron Finch vows to put on a show for Northern Superchargers in The Hundred

Australian T20 captain Aaron Finch is among seven players unveiled by Northern Superchargers today as the men’s retention window closed ahead of the first season of cricket’s new action-packed competition The Hundred.

By Daniel Gregory
Thursday, 4th February 2021, 10:46 am
Aussie Aaron Finch will captain the Northern Superchargers
Aussie Aaron Finch will captain the Northern Superchargers

The Superchargers have significantly added to an already powerful batting unit with confirmation that Finch, who will captain the side, and fellow Australian Chris Lynn will wear purple this summer.

The Superchargers have also further strengthened their women’s squad with England bowlers Beth Langston and Linsey Smith locked in for this summer’s competition.

Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Middlesex keeper John Simpson and Durham pace bowler Brydon Carse will join Finch and Lynn as the final men’s players being retained from Superchargers’ 2020 squad. The final five slots in the men’s squad will be unveiled on 23 February.

Northern Superchargers are one of eight new teams taking part in The Hundred, a new 100-ball competition that is designed to throw open cricket’s doors to everyone.

Boasting world class men’s and women’s players, it will take place this summer and feature eight city-based teams from Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London. It will be screened live by Sky and the BBC.

Aaron Finch said: “I loved my time as a player at Yorkshire and I’m really looking forward to getting back up there and hopefully putting on a show. We certainly look like we have a batting line-up that can do some damage and with some smart additions at the draft we should have a very strong squad.”

Linsey Smith said: “I’m delighted to be confirmed as a Northern Superchargers player. We have already got the core of the Northern Diamonds squad that reached the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final last summer, which gives me a lot of confidence that we can make our mark on the first season of The Hundred.”

In total another 57 players have been confirmed today as having signed up for the action-packed 100-ball competition.

While the men’s retention window – the period during which teams could re-sign players from their 2020 squads - has now closed, the women’s squads will continue to be revealed until June.

The remaining picks for all eight men’s sides will be unveiled on 23 February. 35 spaces will be up for grabs in the Men’s Draft, including the four Northern Superchargers picks.

Birmingham Phoenix have moved to strengthen their men’s squad with the retentions of overseas stars Shaheen Afridi and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson alongside hard-hitting Liam Livingstone and exciting seamer Isabelle Wong.

There will be a local flavour to the Manchester Originals squads with England and Lancashire spinners Alex Hartley and Matt Parkinson staying at Emirates Old Trafford.

England and Kent’s Sam Billings is part of an impressive list of retentions at Oval Invincibles. The overseas duo of South Africa skipper Dane Van Niekerk and Nepalese spinner Sandeep Lamichhane will also stay at the Kia Oval.

Southern Brave welcome three big-name overseas players including New Zealand legspinner allrounder Amelia Kerr, West Indies star Andre Russell and Australian Marcus Stoinis.

Visit http://thehundred.com to find out more about the latest squads and the new 100-ball competition.

Full list of players announced this week:

Birmingham Phoenix: Shaheen Afridi, Thea Brookes, Chris Cooke, Gwen Davies, Liam Livingstone, Isabelle Wong, Kane Williamson

London Spirit: Charlie Dean, Mason Crane, Freya Davies, Joe Denly, Hannah Jones, Glenn Maxwell, Sophie Munro, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Mark Wood

Manchester Originals: Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Ellie Threlkeld, Alex Hartley, Emma Lamb, Wayne Madsen, Matt Parkinson

Northern Superchargers: Aaron Finch, Brydon Carse, Beth Langston, Chris Lynn, John Simpson, Linsey Smith, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Oval Invincibles: Sam Billings, Sarah Bryce, Alice Capsey, Laurie Evans, Jo Gardner, Will Jacks, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dane Van Niekerk

Southern Brave: Amelia Kerr, Fi Morris Craig Overton, Andre Russell, Marcus Stoinis, Ross Whiteley

Trent Rockets: Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cox, Lewis Gregory, Nancy Harman, Lucy Higham, D'Arcy Short, Luke Wood, Luke Wright

Welsh Fire: Qais Ahmad, Amy Gordon, Ryan Higgins, David Payne, Liam Plunkett