Rules fly through at quiet Beckett AGM

Wednesday night’s Readers Scarborough Beckett Cricket League annual general meeting at Wykeham’s Downe Arms passed without a hitch.

By Martin Dowey
Thursday, 22nd January 2015, 10:28 am

Each of the voted rule changes were passed by the 30 member clubs in attendance and will now be enforced for the new season.

The closest run thing was the law stating that after the 14th league fixture, a club can strengthen its second team with two regular first-team players subject to league approval and within the spirit of cricket. Regular meaning having played the majority of league matches for the first XI.

The voting was split at 15 each, but the management committee, who had made the proposal, cast their vote and passed the rule.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

Non-registered players will now be allowed for the 2015 campaign, as will loans for older players between clubs.

Matches will start at 1.30pm, as it was in the 2014 season, and bowlers in all divisions are now limited to a maximum of 12 overs.

In other news, new league secretary Simon Dobson delivered his first report and promised to liase closely with clubs to aid the redevelopment of local cricket.

Martin Holmes took his place back on the management committee, while Cloughton’s Ricky Nock and Ebberston’s Colin Palmer replaced Tom Brough and John Mancrief.

Former Scarborough skipper Nick Tubbs took the role of honorary solicitor after Martin Summers stepped down following 33 years in office.

Readers Scarborough Beckett Cricket League 2015

Premier: Cayton, Ebberston, Filey, Flixton 2nds, Forge Valley, Heslerton, Nawton Grange, Scalby, Staithes, Staxton.

Division A: Brompton, Cayton 2nds, Cloughton, Grindale, Mulgrave, Seamer, Settrington, Sherburn, Wold Newton, Wykeham.

Division B: Bridlington 2nds, Forge Valley 2nds, Fylingdales, Ganton, Ravenscar, Scalby 2nds, Scarborough 3rds, Sewerby 2nds, Staxton 2nds, Thornton Dale.

Division C: Cloughton 2nds, Ebberston 2nds, Flamborough, Fylingdales 2nds, Great Habton, Heslerton 2nds, Muston, Ryedale, Seamer 2nds, Wykeham 2nds.