Cross and Nicholls race to county glory at Dalby

Young runners from around North Yorkshire converged on Dalby Forest last Thursday for the county primary schools cross country championships.

Friday, 25th March 2016, 11:20 am
Updated Friday, 25th March 2016, 8:33 pm
Action from Dalby Forest. Pictures: Gary Simpson

The course, which involved a variety of up and downhill challenges, allowed participants a glimpse of the beautiful woodland area at Adderstone Field.

Runners from the Scarborough, Whitby and Ryedale areas locked horns with athletes from Harrogate, Richmondshire and York, among many other areas.

Courses of 1000, 1200 and 1500 metres were run by young athletes from Year Three to Year Six as well as 11-18 year olds from special schools ,The Woodlands Academy of Scarborough, and The Dales School.

Action from Dalby Forest. Pictures: Gary Simpson

The event, organised by North Yorkshire Sport, which welcomed over 600 participants, brought more than 1,000 visitors to the venue.

North Yorkshire Sport chief executive David Watson said: “The day went fantastically, the course was challenging but all the young athletes did a brilliant job. I was pleased to see so many young runners get excited for the event and get to visit Dalby.

“I would also like to congratulate all of our medal winners, as well as the staff and volunteers who helped to organise the event.”

Scarborough’s Ben Cross won the Boys Year Four race, with his Scarborough Athletic Club teammate Issy Nichols, running for Ryedale & Whitby, taking the Girls Year Six crown.

Action from Dalby Forest. Pictures: Gary Simpson

Race results

Boys Year Three: 1st Miles Watson (York), 2nd Jack Vesey (Richmondshire), 3rd Samuel Dickinson (Selby).

Girls Year Three: 1st Martha Sigsworth (Hambleton), 2nd

Chantal Levey (Selby), 3rd Elena Dickson (Harrogate).

Action from Dalby Forest. Pictures: Gary Simpson

Boys Year Four: 1st Ben Cross

(Scarborough), 2nd Isaac Breckons (York), 3rd Johannes Shaw (Harrogate).

Girls Year Four: 1st Phoebe Midgley (Craven), 2nd Kathryn Clague (York), 3rd Seren Melling (Hambleton).

Boys Year Five: 1st Campbell Darcy (Hambleton), 2nd Joshua Hammet (Richmondshire),

Action from Dalby Forest. Pictures: Gary Simpson

3rd Zachary Towse (York).

Girls Year Five: 1st Zoe Hill (Hambleton), 2nd Anya Potter-Firth (Ryedale and Whitby), 3rd Mollie Reynolds-Jones


Boys Year Six: 1st Sam Benson (Craven), 2nd Kieran Robson (Scarborough), 3rd Jack Hastings-Long (Hambleton).

Girls Year Six: 1st Issy Nichols (Ryedale& Whitby), 2nd Tierney Walsh (Ryedale & Whitby), 3rd Beth Roberts (Craven).

KS3/4 Specials 1000m: 1st Harry Richardson (Scarborough), 2nd Luke Andrews (Scarborough).

KS3/4 Specials 1200m: 1st Dale Welbourne (Scarborough), 2nd Chris Richardson (Scarborough).

Post 16 1200m: 1st Alexander Phillips (Hambleton), 2nd Laurence Stirke (Hambleton), 3rdBethany Siddal (Hambleton).

KS3/4 Specials 1500m: 1st Dylan Wilkin (Scarborough), 2nd Jack Vesey (Scarborough), 3rd Samuel Dickinson (Scarborough).