Bridlington Town's place in Northern Premier League East division confirmed

Bridlington Town have been placed in the Northern Premier League East division for the 2021-2022 season as part of the FA’s restructure of the NLS.

By Andy Bloomfield
Tuesday, 18th May 2021, 3:53 pm
Bfrid Town celebrate a goal in the 2020-21 season
Bfrid Town celebrate a goal in the 2020-21 season

This places them in the same 19-team division as the likes of former NCEL Premier Division rivals Pickering Town, Tadcaster Albion, Pontefract Colleries and Worksop Town.

Also promoted to Step 4 are Yorkshire Amateur and Liversedge from the NCEL, Hebburn Town, Shildon and Stockton Town, from the Northern League,

Town player-boss Brett Agnew is delighted the FA have kept travel to a minimum by placing them in this division.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

He said: “I am over the moon with this news, the FA have shown some common sense in this case by not making us travel across to places like Workington and Kendal..

“It looks like a great division with a lot of teams we are very familiar with such as Pickering, Tadcaster, Brighouse, Cleethorpes and Worksop and then some we are not so familiar with such

as the North East teams like Shildon, Hebburn Town, Marske, Stockton and Dunston.

“We have had some good derby games against Pickering in the past and I will be looking forward to playing against them again as they are a great bunch there. A lot of our lads have played for Tadcaster in the past so they will be good games, as will those against Pontefract, Worksop and Cleethorpes.

“Marske, Hebburn and Cleethorpes will probably be the main title contenders, but on the whole there is not much between the teams so it should be very competitive.”

NPL East (Step 4) Division: BRIDLINGTON TOWN*, Brighouse Town, Cleethorpes Town, Dunston, Frickley Athletic, Hebburn Town*, Lincoln United, Liversedge*, Marske United, Ossett United, Pickering Town, Pontefract Colleries, Sheffield, Shildon*, Stocksbridge PS, Stockton Town*, Tadcaster Albion, Worskop Town, Yorkshire Amateur*.

*denotes promoted teams