Scarborough League stars beat York in thriller

Danny Jenkinson and Shaun Dodson were the star men as the Scarborough News Saturday League representative team battled back from 1-0 and 2-1 down to claim a 3-2 victory against their York League counterparts in the Ernie Fairclough Trophy match tonight at Pickering Town FC.

By Andy Bloomfield
Thursday, 23rd October 2014, 12:39 am

The duo excelled in midfield in the first half for the visitors, and although Athletico2B’s Dodson dropped back to centre-back after the break he still impressed along with the tireless Jenkinson, of Newlands, in an action-packed encounter at Mill Lane, with Edgehill’s Dean Craig also putting a strong shift in the centre of midfield.

Scarborough put York under a lot of pressure early on but the hosts started to edge their way back into the game and took the lead on seven minutes when a low free-kick from skipper Richard Dunning was only parried by Scarborough keeper Richard Curtis and left-back Daniel Fogg, Dunning’s Old Malton teammate, reacted quickly to force the rebound home from close-range.

Eight minutes later great play from the visitors saw Jenkinson’s header flash wide of the goal as Scarborough began to regain a foothold in the game.

Midway through the half, Edgehill midfielder levelled the scores with a stunning 20-yard shot with his left foot, the ball fizzing into the top corner past the helpless Wells.

Apart from a low shot by Dodson on the half-hour which was deflected wide by a York defender there were few clear-cut chances before half-time, with the Scarborough side just about shading a first half which saw plenty of free-flowing football from both sides.

Scarborough chief Shaun Mancrief, who manages Newlands, rang the changes at half-time bringing on Westover striker Curtis Rose, Newlands defender Kile Fields and Edgehill forward Jackson Jowett in place of Tommy Barker (West Pier), Lloyd Henderson (Edgehill) and Jonny Manson (Newlands), and then early in the second half he introduced pacy Edgehill winger Jordan Shaw for Cooper and Filey Town Reserves’ Jamie Gallagher for Filey first-teamer Ben Briggs.

During this spell the York side took advantage of Scarborough adapting to the changes in personnel, and in the 62nd minute centre-back Matty Pallister (Copmanthorpe) powered in a header from a corner to restore the hosts’ lead.

This seemed to revive the Scarborough team, who begin to gel once again and in the 72nd minute Jenkinson’s low shot beat Wells after fine play from Ricky Greening and Shaw, whose pace was a constant worry for the York defenders.

Six minutes later Greening beat the offside trap and lifted his shot past Wells to secure victory for the away team.

The move of the game, 10 minutes from time, saw Jowett’s backheel set up Fields, who then found Greening and his cross was headed at goal by Rose forcing the hosts to make a last-gasp clearance.

Jenkinson collected the Ernie Fairclough Trophy after the game, and although Dodson was named as man of the match for the victors Jenkinson and Craig were also singled out for special praise by a proud Mancrief.

“These three were all contenders for the man of the match, but to be fair all the lads played very well and it is very promising to see how well the younger lads did tonight.

“In all honesty I think I could have selected 30 players from the Scarborough League as there is plenty of quality in our league and we showed it tonight.”

Scarborough League team: Richard Curtis (Newlands Park), Jonny Manson (Newlands Park), Ben Briggs (Filey Town), Lloyd Henderson (Edgehill), Ricky Nock (Edgehill), TommyBarker (West Pier), Dean Craig (Edgehill), Shaun Dodson (Athletico2B), Danny Jenkinson (Newlands Park), Liam Cooper (Edgehill), Ricky Greening (Edgehill). Subs: Jackson Jowett (Edgehill) 45 mins for Barker, Curtis Rose (Westover) 45 mins for Manson, Kile Fields (Newlands Park) 45 mins for Henderson, Jordan Shaw (Edgehill) 53 mins for Cooper, Gallagher (Filey Town) 58 mins for Briggs.

York League team: Toby Wells (Old Malton), Jamie Green (Wigginton), Daniel Fogg (Old Malton), Matty Pallister (Copmanthorpe), Simon Cooke (Old Malton), Harry McMillan (Wigginton), Callum Richardson (Dunnington), Richard Dunning (Old Malton), Matthew Tiplady (Wigginton), Tom Fenwick (Old Malton), Dean Nuttall (Old Malton). Subs: Jamie Willstrop (Wigginton) 55 mins for Fenwick, Phil Smith 55 mins for Nuttall,