Kirkbymoorside teenager Peace sees off Chilton to win Scarborough DMC trial

Whitby rider Andy Chilton could not get close enough to put pressure on JST Gas Gas rider Dan Peace on Sunday and had to be content to finish runner-up to the talented reigning British Youth A Champion at Scarborough & District Motor Club’s trial at a dry, but cold, Harwood Dale.

Thursday, 15th January 2015, 9:00 am
Dan Peace in action at Harwood Dale

Kirkbymoorside’s Peace rode a fantastic first lap of one lost, a long legged dab to help the 16-year-old keep the lively Gasser down on the huge, wicked undercut step of the second section of the Low North Camp course.

Chilton cleaned here and followed it with a couple of superb cleans on the climb over roots out of the river, but then lost ground on the towering rock climb of nine where the confident Peace remained feet up as Chilton lost six.

Gary Collinson led a troop of Scarborian riders, Shaughan Galway, Andy Lockwood and Mark Taylor, home in the ever- growing intermediate class.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Although Galway proved outstanding on the fifth with just one lost, he couldn’t match the consistency of Collinson, who ran out a clear winner by 10 marks.

Whitby’s Mike Noble finished in eighth position in the Clubman A class, while sister Nicola Dixon showed him the way to victory by keeping cool and snatching the win on the white route on most cleans rule from Dave Atkinson.


Expert: Dan Peace (Gas Gas UK) 10 points, Andy Chilton (Beta UK) 28, Tom Minta (Sherco) 54.

Intermediate: Gary Collinson (Gas Gas) 62, Shaughan Galway (Gas Gas) 72, Andy Lockwood (Montesa) 85.

Clubman A: Mark Coulson (Gas Gas) 4, Matt Handley (Beta) 9, Barry Chapman (Montesa) 11.

Clubman B: John Stones (Beta) 2, Mick Orange (Fantic) 3, Phil Manton (Gas Gas) 5, Darren Mayne (Gas Gas) 8, Steve Kirkwood (Fantic) 8.

Youth C: Jack Scott (Gas Gas) 47, Jonathon Wray (Gas Gas) 111, Claire Collinson (Beta) 112.

White route: Nicola Dixon (Beta) 2 m/cs, Dave Atkinson (Beta) 2, Stewart Dixon (Beta) 12.