Staxton ready to begin the defence of their title

The 2018 Scarborough Beckett Cricket League season gets underway on Saturday with all teams starting their campaigns on the same date.

Thursday, 26th April 2018, 1:13 pm
Updated Thursday, 26th April 2018, 1:16 pm

The scheduled opening round of Premier Division matches have been moved from Sunday April 22 to Sunday May 20 following the effects of the atrocious recent weather conditions.

Premier Division champions Staxton will be looking to successfully defend their crown but could face stiff challenges from Staithes and Filey, who both finished in the top three last summer.

Thornton Dale make their first-ever appearance in the top-flight of the league and last season’s Division One winners Mulgrave will be looking for an improved return to the division.

Sign up to our daily The Scarborough News Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Division One looks to be a highly competitive division with relegated Settrington and Cloughton hoping to bounce straight back.

Brompton, Sherburn and Flixton 2nds could also be in contention, while Great Habton could be a dark horse having recruited well during the winter.

Division Two will also be closely fought with Fylingdales looking to make a move after narrowly missing out on promotion for the last two season, although relegated sides Bridlington 2nds and Wold Newton could be the teams to beat.

Ravenscar appear favourites in Division Three but could face tough opposition in the shape of Forge Valley 2nds and Flamborough, while newly-promoted Cloughton 2nds, Heslerton 2nds and Mulgrave 2nds will be hoping to impress.

The new-look Division Four, which has been split into regions, also commences on Saturday and features new sides Malton 4ths and Pickering 4ths, along with what appears to be a rejuvenated Scarborough 3rds.

In an exciting new format, the winners of each region will play off for the divisional championship after the end of the season.

Opening fixtures:

Saturday April 28

Premier Division: Forge Valley v Mulgrave, Heslerton v Filey, Nawton Grange v Ebberston, Scalby v Seamer, Staxton v Staithes, Thornton Dale v Cayton

Division One: Cloughton v Ganton, Flixton 2nds v Settrington, Great Habton v Brompton, Sherburn v Staxton 2nds, Wykeham v Scalby 2nds.

Division Two: Cayton 2nds v Pickering 3rds, Ebberston 2nds v Bridlington 2nds, Fylingdales v Wykeham 2nds, Seamer 2nds v Kirkbymoorside, Sewerby 2nds v Wold Newton.

Division Three: Flamborough v Cloughton 2nds, Mulgrave 2nds v Forge Valley 2nds, Muston v Heslerton 2nds, Ravenscar v Flixton 3rds, Snainton v Nawton Grange 2nds.

Division Four (East): Cayton 3rds v Scalby 3rds, Filey 2nds v Scarborough Rugby Club, Scarborough 3rds v Ravenscar 2nds, Wold Newton 2nds v Muston 2nds.

Division Four (West): Brompton 2nds v Forge Valley 3rds, Ganton 2nds v Wykeham 3rds, Malton 4ths v Thornton Dale 2nds, Pickering 3rds v Sherburn 2nds.