Dunning ready to tackle Scarborough League

Old Malton St Mary’s players will dominate when the York League select XI do battle with the Scarborough League in the Ernie Fairclough Challenge Trophy on Wednesday night at Pickering Town’s Mill Lane, 7.45pm kick-off.

Dean Nuttall in action for Old Malton, is one of the York League rep team's players
Dean Nuttall in action for Old Malton, is one of the York League rep team's players

As well as being led by Old Malton’s Richard Dunning, the club will also have five other players in the current trophy-holding squad.

Former Scarborough Athletic and Blackburn Rovers man Dunning will line up alongside fellow St Mary’s men Toby Wells, Daniel Fogg, Dean Readman, Callum Scott and Dean Nuttall.

All of these players have impressed as Old Malton have pushed their way towards the top of the York League this season.

The Scarborough team will contain some familiar faces as well, with current Pickering Town players Ryan Cooper, Billy Logan and Niall Gibb, who played in the Scarborough League last season, all gaining selection.

York League official Bill Pearce: “The League had approached both York City and Tadcaster Albion to stage the fixture as it is our home game. Unfortunately they could not accommodate us.

“Tadcaster have recently upgraded their pitch and continue to do so. There is a possibility that we may get use of the ground in March.

“The game against Scarborough is the annual game for the Ernie Fairclough Challenge Trophy.

“Ernie was instrumental in forming the York Premier League so we are expecting a performance from the squad to match Ernie’s enthusiasm for the game.

“The Trophy will be presented by Keith Usher, the Pickering Town chairman/secretary.

“The committee are hoping for a good turn out from the members and from the clubs.”

York League squad: Toby Wells (Old Malton), Ben Sheehan (Copmanthorpe), Daniel Fogg (Old Malton), Dean Readman (Old Malton), Callum Scott (Old Malton), Matt Pallister (Copmanthorpe), Jamie Green (Wigginton), Rich Dunning (Old Malton), Harry McMillan (Wigginton), Robert Chipps (Dunnington), Jamie Willstrop (Wigginton), Dean Nuttall (Old Malton), Callum Richardson (Dunnington), Chris Dyson (Huntington), Scott Sullivan (Dunnington), Matthew Tiplady (Wigginton).

Scarborough League squad: Josh Crawford (Filey Town), Jonny Manson (Newlands Pk), Ben Briggs (Filey Town), Steve Sheader (West Pier), Ricky Nock (Edgehill), Tom Hickin (Edgehill), Tommy Barker (West Pier), Danny Jenkinson (Newlands Pk), Aaron Jenking (Edgehill), Shaun Dodson (Athletico2B), Dean Craig (Edgehill), Jackson Jowett (Edgehill), Billy Logan (Newlands Park), Curtis Rose (Westover Wasps), Kile Fields (Newlands Park), Ryan Cooper (Newlands Pk), Liam Cooper (Edgehill), Niall Gibb (Newlands Pk).